Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross depict the last journey of Jesus from his condemnation to his crucifixion and, in this set, his resurrection. They tell the story of how Jesus died for all and rose again, bringing the joy and hope of Easter, and the promise of eternal life with God. You are invited to follow this journey by walking round the churchyard and pausing at each ‘Station’ to look at the painting and reflect on it’s meaning.

To see the stations in order, begin at the gate by the pond. The first station is straight ahead on the wall of the church. The second is on your right, on the fence. Follow the stations along the fence to no. 5. Station 6 can be found on the tree opposite the bus stop in Church Street. Move back towards the south east corner of the church for Station 7, on the high railings. Station 8 is on the low railings. Station 9 is on the gate at the end of the path. Continue moving round the churchyard to Station 10 on the tree near Brookside, then to Station 11 on the gate near the beck. Move back towards the church to find Station 12 on the railings by the door, then across the churchyard again to Station 13 on the tree overlooking the beck. Station 14 can be found on the back of the church sign, also overlooking the beck. Finally Station 15 is on the railings near the north west corner of the church. The stations are numbered in the bottom left corner of each painting but for ease of reference we have produced a leaflet with this text and small pictures to show the route around the churchyard. A supply of the leaflets is available in the church porch. If you handle a sheet, please take it away with you. Thank you for your cooperation.

  1. Jesus is condemned. Straight ahead on the wall of the church.
    The authorities in Jerusalem had been plotting against Jesus. After he was betrayed
    by Judas, he was brought before Pontius Pilate, the Roman governor, and
    condemned to death
  2. Jesus takes up his cross
    At the time of Jesus, those who were condemned to death were crucified. They were
    made to carry their cross to the place where this would happen.
  3. Jesus falls for the first time
    The cross was very heavy and Jesus falls under it’s weight. He was already weakened
    after being beaten.
  4. Jesus meets his mother
    On the way, Jesus meets those he is closest to, including his mother.
  5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross
    The Roman soldiers made Simon from Cyrene carry the cross of Jesus for part of the
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
    It is said that a woman, Veronica, came forward to wipe the face of Jesus with her
    handkerchief – a gesture of compassion. This part of the story is not in the bible.
  7. Jesus falls the second time
    Even though Jesus had been helped by Simon of Cyrene, he was very weak and fell
  8. The women of Jerusalem
    On the way Jesus met some women who were crying for Jesus. He called them
    daughters of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time
    Jesus, becoming even weaker, falls again.
  10. Jesus is stripped
    The soldiers cast lots to decide who would take Jesus’ clothes.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross
    When they reached the place of crucifixion, the soldiers nailed Jesus to the Cross
  12. Jesus speaks to his mother
    Despite his pain, Jesus was concerned for his mother. He saw her standing with a
    disciple he loved and said ‘Woman, here is your son’ and to the disciple, ‘Here is your
    mother’. From that moment the disciple cared for Mary.
  13. Jesus dies on the Cross
    From noon darkness came over the land. Jesus died at 3 in the afternoon
  14. Jesus is taken down
    Joseph of Arimathea, who was a follower of Jesus, asked Pilate if he could take the
    body of Jesus to prepare it for burial.
  15. Jesus is buried
    Joseph took the body of Jesus, wrapped it in a linen cloth, and laid it in a new tomb.
    This is the story of the last days of the life of Jesus on earth. But the story doesn’t end here.
    Three days later some of the women went to visit the tomb and found Jesus was alive. They
    ran to tell his friends and over time, Jesus was seen by many people. This is recorded in the
    bible and in historical records of the time.
  16. Jesus is risen – the final Station in this set.
    This will be found in the churchyard on Easter Day.

The Stations of the Cross you see in the churchyard were painted by the Benedictine Sisters of Turvey Abbey in Bedfordshire and are © The Benedictine Sisters of Turvey Abbey and McCrimmons Publishing Co Ltd.